It’s Taco- I mean Tofu Tuesday!

Who needs a taco-Tuesday when you can always have a tofu-Tuesday?

Actually, I have no idea how people make tofu taste so damn delicious. When I was working at the Keltic Lodge in Nova Scotia, a lovely married couple who I befriended made me this divine tofu dish. It was definitely tofu, but it didn’t have the consistency nor did it taste like it. It was kind of spicy and dried. I loved it. I just have no idea how they came about making it.

I actually have no idea how people dry their tofu and make it into amazing things. I need a vegetarian/vegan teacher to educate me on how to drain the liquid from tofu and create amazingness from it.

Today I did try to remove the tofu from the packaging it came in and place it between a dishcloth with a cutting board beneath it and a plate above it BUT the tofu just disintegrated. I wasn’t even pressing hard. It just became a blob of crumbs. A liquefied blob of crumbs. How can anything be liquefied? Well my tofu was! Maybe it was because I got the tofu in a box, gosh I don’t know!

Morinaga Tofu in a Box

Anyway, I tried to make this recipe I found on Popsugar on how to bake tofu. I really did try. It just flopped.

Marinated Tofu

Ingredients:

  • 1 block tofu, sliced
  • 2 Tablespoons soy sauce
  • 1 Tablespoon agave nectar
  • ½ teaspoon thyme
  • ½ teaspoon dill
  • 1 teaspoon cumin

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350ᵒF (175ᵒC) and line a cookie sheet with tin foil or parchment paper.

  2. Place tofu slices on tray and drizzle with soy sauce and agave nectar.

  3. Sprinkle with thyme, dill, and cumin and pop in oven.

  4. Bake for 30 to 35 minutes.

  5. Enjoy!

I did all of this and my tofu still came out a liquid absorbed blob. It doesn’t taste all too bad, but it wasn’t what I wanted. Because like most people, I dislike the consistency of tofu! Vegetarian meat crumbles are so much easier to eat than tofu as they are more of a solid that tofu is.

Tofu on a bed of Quinoa with Asparagus

Well I served the tofu on a bed of quinoa with some pan fried asparagus seasoned with salt and pepper. Nothing all too special, but I can tell you that that asparagus did rock my world!

I made enough food for two people, though due to a hungry mother hen, half of my asparagus was consumed. Thus making this dish only for one person. Plus lets be honest, I was kind of turned off by my failure with tofu that I couldn’t go for a round two.

Anyway, if any of you can successfully dry tofu out I would really like to hear how this dish went for you! I’m sure once it comes out properly it is magnificent. Please let me know!

Happy eating!

One thought on “It’s Taco- I mean Tofu Tuesday!”

Leave a Reply

