Mouthwatering Mexican with Homemade Sauces and a Salad

Oooh Mexican! Now that is one type of cuisine that everyone seems to love! Our family does not exclude that stereotype whatsoever. We definitely love it! Although it seems we prefer homemade Mexican dishes over attending restaurants which serve Mexican dishes. I don’t know about you, but most restaurants we’ve been to seem to have mediocre dishes. Even the guacamole seems to taste so boring at certain Mexican restaurants we have been to!

Well, when I make Mexican influenced dishes, they taste nothing BUT bland!

Before I give you the recipe for my spectacular meal, let me start by telling you that I made all the sauces from scratch. Including the garlic chili sauce (which you can EASILY buy in the store). Why did I make a garlic chili sauce from scratch? Well I mostly didn’t know that could be found in stores here. I mean it is a basic sauce, but so is Sriracha and I only know that to be in the States. So I always need to end up making spicy sauces similar to Sriracha, including this garlic chili sauce.

Garlic Chili Sauce

I got the recipe for the sauce on White on Rice Couple, but the direct link to the recipe can be found here. I mostly followed the recipe, except I used less chilis than the recipe called for. Much less chili’s. The recipe calls for a cup of chilis but I only used two. Just 2. And my mouth was still burning! Not sure how others can handle more than that.

Ingredients:

  • 2 chili peppers, chopped
  • 2 Tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 head of garlic, crushed and sliced
  • ½ (113g) red onion, chopped
  • 1 can (400g) chopped tomatoes
  • 4 Tablespoons rice vinegar
  • 3 Tablespoons sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon fish sauce

Instructions:

  1. Rinse, clean, and remove stems from chili peppers, dry peppers and then and thinly slice.

  2. In a small sauce pan, heat olive oil and add garlic and onion and sauté until fragrant.

  3. Then add can of tomatoes and chili peppers to garlic and onion and mix. Allow to simmer on low for a minute or two. Now add rice vinegar, sugar, and fish sauce and mix well.

  4. Allow sauce to simmer for five minutes, this will break down the heat from the chili peppers.

  5. Remove pan from heat and allow sauce to completely cool down.

  6. Once cool, pour tomato mixture into a small food processor and blend until smooth.

  7. Pour into a bowl or a sauce boat and use as desired.

When making this much, you make about a cup or so of the sauce. So I used some for my actual Mexican meal, but I’ve got so much that I will use it for multiple things this week! Plus my dad likes spicy so this should be good for him too!

I really do not know how people could handle a cup of chili peppers though, YIKES!

The recipe for the meal itself was found at Simple Roots Wellness, but the direct link for the website can be found here. This recipe calls for a Sriracha sauce, but as I said Sriracha is not found in any of the places I’ve lived as of late so I made my sauce with a garlic-chili sauce flavouring. And delicious it was!

Vegetarian Version

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup (100g) Vegetarian Meat Crumbles
  • 3 cloves garlic, sliced
  • 2 teaspoons chili garlic sauce
  • 1 Tablespoon molasses
  • 1 ½ teaspoon tomato paste
  • 1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 Tablespoon dried oregano
  • 1 Tablespoon cumin powder
  • ½ teaspoon paprika powder
  • Salt & pepper to taste
  • ¼ cup (59ml) water

Salad:

  • ½ head lettuce, chopped
  • 1 can sweet corn
  • Roasted sweet potato
  • 1 tomato, chopped
  • 1 avocado, sliced
  • Bunch of cilantro, chopped

Cream Sauce:

  • ½ cup (100g) goat cheese
  • ¼ cup (59ml) water
  • 2 teaspoons garlic chili sauce

Instructions:

  1. In a small Wok, sauté veggie meat crumbles.

  2. Add sliced garlic and garlic chili sauce and mix well. Add molasses, tomato paste, and Worcestershire sauce to meat crumbles and mix.

  3. Season with dried oregano, cumin powder, paprika powder, salt and pepper, and water to veggie mince.

  4. Mix well and allow to simmer until liquid becomes a light sauce.

  5. Meanwhile combine goat cheese, water, and garlic chili sauce in a mini food processor until smooth. Pour into a small bowl and place in fridge.

  6. When ready to serve, place lettuce in a bowl and add choice of toppings. Top with veggie meat crumbles and slices of avocado.

  7. Drizzle on cream sauce and enjoy!

This recipe was originally meant to be made with actual mincemeat and as my parents do not eat veggie meat substitutes, I made them the original version of the recipe. If you wish to make the recipe with mincemeat then double everything from the chili sauce to the water for the meat. You can also double the ingredients for the salad. The goat cheese sauce is the same for both the veggie crumbles and normal mincemeat.

Ground Beef version

This was the first time I have ever touched mincemeat in years. I hate cooking it. The smell of the meat in a pan is God awful! I actually never even liked it when I did eat meat way back when.

Cooking it today made me think of middle school, when I took Food Economics. I did love that class. I even learnt how to sew in that class! But I also learnt that I dislike the smell of ground beef! Thankfully I still do!

Anyway, that is the meal for the evening! A fabulous meal indeed. One that each and every one of us truly loved. Including mom who dislikes goat cheese and yet she didn’t mind the goat cheese sauce! Lucky me!

If you all end up making this, I hope you enjoy it! It was a good one!

Leave a Reply

