Brazilian Rice and Beans with Chicken Sausage

Bom día todo o mundo!

I recently realized that I have cooked so many different cuisine types since becoming a food blogger. And I love constantly learning about the different types of cuisines and dishes each country has to offer. I just love trying new dishes!

But today I decided to categorize the tab on my homepage for “international cuisine” into all the cuisine types. So now if you go to the main page and look above at the tabs you will read “appetizers”, “dinner”, “dessert”, and “learning about the chef”, then within the dinner you will find different tabs and that will then go on to different types of tabs within those tabs!

While thinking about all the different types of cuisines I like and am interested in, I then thought of more foods I lust to try. For tonight’s meal I also wanted to keep up with my international way and keep up with the food I’ve had over my travels.

About thirteen years ago my father moved my family to Brazil for a few years where I tried all sorts of great foods and just enjoyed myself. I did have issues at school, but I had some great friends and would enjoy the beach right down the road from our house as well as all the great amounts of food. We lived in the very popular suburb of Ipanema for a while before we had our apartment in Leblon. Both the hotel in Ipanema and the apartment in Leblon were within two blocks from the beach.

View from Balcony while in Ipanema
View from Balcony while in Ipanema
My sister and I in Rio
My sister and I in Rio

Anyway, after we moved from Brazil, I remembered missing pão de queijo, farofa, coxinhas, freijão preto, and my absolute favourite: biscoito de polvilho. Of all those great Brazilian foods, for this evenings meal I tried to make a meal with beans.

I got the recipe from favourite family recipes, though if you would like the direct recipe just click here.

Brazilian rice and beans

I did tweak the recipe some as the original recipe calls for smoked sausage, but as I do not eat red meat or pork I just used plain old chicken sausage. And as good as the original photo on the recipe looked, I will have to say that the meal itself was pretty bland in my opinion.

Ingredients:

  • 2 Tablespoons olive oil
  • 3 chicken sausages, chopped
  • ½ cup (115g) green onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 cup (210g) basmati rice
  • 2 cups (470ml) chicken broth
  • 1 can (425g) pinto beans
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 bay leaves

Instructions:

  1. In a large skillet sauté sausages, green onions, and garlic in olive oil until onions are soft.

  2. Stir in rice, chicken broth, pinto beans, salt and pepper, and bay leaves and bring to a boil.

  3. Reduce heat to a low simmer and cover. Simmer for 15-20 minutes or until rice is cooked.

  4. Remove from heat and fluff rice with a fork.

  5. Remove bay leaves and enjoy!

Brazilian Rice and BeansAlthough I wasn’t all too keen on this dish, it was great to enjoy some Brazilian food again. Though I really do miss biscoito de polvinho. The last time I had that was last April when I went to visit my wonderful Brazilian friend in Paris.

Selfie with Biscoito de Polvilho

Amazing treats those things are! I love my friend Sashinha for treating me with those. I do remember finding a store in Amsterdam or Rotterdam that sold these one year and having boughten so much. Loved them!

Anyway, this was our meal for the night and I hope that you all enjoy it. If not try any of the other links for wonderful Brazilian foods that would be a great addition to your list of meals to try!

Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

