Apple and Cinnamon Pastry Roses

I made the best breakfast/dessert ever!

I’ve recently started a new diet which I will get into another day, but with my new diet I make new things which suit me better.

Less sugar and yet more heavenly.

This is the first time in two weeks that I have actually had something legitimately sweet. You know what though? This wasn’t even all that sweet. It was as I said: heavenly.

Pre-Baking

Last night I made a quiche for the first time ever and had so much extra puff pastry, so rather than toss it out as mom would have done, I saved it. I looked up some great desserts and breakfasts which utilized the puff pastry and found something amazing.

I got the recipe from trusty ole Betty Crocker, however the direct link to the recipe can be found here.

As for the ingredients, the recipe says to use 3 medium apples, I however used 5 small apples. Because in Africa there seem to only be 3 types of apples at the grocery stores. Green ones, red ones, and small ones. Where I’m from the green one is usually a Granny Smith apple, the red one is a Red Delicious apple, and the small one? I’m pretty sure it is a small Jonagold but I can’t be too sure.

apple-types

Anyway here are the ingredients:

  • 3 medium (450g) apples
  • 4 Tablespoons sugar
  • 2 Tablespoons lemon juice
  • Flour for sprinkling
  • Puffy pastry dough (leftovers from previous meal work)
  • 4 Tablespoons sugar
  • 2 Tablespoons cinnamon

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 204ᵒC (400ᵒF) and grease 9 silicone muffin cups. (Silicone is less likely to stick to your cinnamon apple roses)

  2. Wash and core apples and slice thinly, leave on the peel.

  3. In small saucepan, fill with four cups (a thousand mL) water, four tablespoons sugar and two tablespoons lemon juice. Bring water to boil and blanche your sliced apples for three minutes or until soft.

  4. Drain apples from water and allow to dry in paper towel.

  5. Sprinkle flour on work space and roll out dough sheet. Sprinkle four tablespoons sugar and two tablespoons cinnamon on dough and slice with pizza knife. Each line of dough should be an inch wide.

  6. Arrange cooled apples (skin-side down) on cinnamon covered dough and roll up to make a rose.

  7. Bake for twenty-five minutes or until golden. Remove from pan and allow to cool on cooling rack.

  8. Enjoy!

Apple Cinnamon Pastry Roses
Apple Cinnamon Pastry Rosess

These were fantastic! Absolutely fantastic! Best of all when Daddy came home from running errands he said he didn’t know that cinnamon rolls came like that, I told him that they didn’t, that this was all me! He was very impressed. Then he bit into one and was even more impressed.

Only issue I had with this recipe was that my oven sucks. Does anyone else have trouble reading the dials on their oven? This house I live in has been a company house for the last five years and before that was lived in by the owner. Because of that there is a lot of wear and tear to it. Like on the oven! UGH

Dials rubbed off

Overall great recipe! A must try for each of you and something I’ll have to make again one day!

Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

