Sweet Potato Chili without the Chili Powder

Good evening (or afternoon) everyone! Hope you’ve had a lovely day.

It has been super hot here. Although according to yahoo weather (the weather app on my apple devices) it was only 21ᵒC, while right now it is 19ᵒC. If I am honest, that isn’t hot at all. Especially since I was raised almost on the equator so I’ve seen my fair share of hot days.

Today I’ve been cleaning my apartment thoroughly as the last couple of days I’ve been neglecting any cleanly activities. In a couple of hours an old friend is coming over for dinner and to spend the night. So I’ve decided to cook her a homemade meal. Now usually that would be an easy feat except she’s got a whole array of allergies. So I have to make something without cane sugar (which is usually in normal sugar), citrus, cow’s dairy products, and a few other things which I do not cook with often (like coffee or aspartame). Oh and to top that off, she is a vegetarian.

Good thing I cook mostly healthy foods without cow’s dairy products and keep it predominately vegetarian! This should be easy!

Cooking my Meal

So there aren’t any final photos of the meal as it is still simmering away in my cauldron-like pot.

But I can tell you that this is a Sweet Potato and Lentil chili. Totally vegetarian and set for eating.

I got the recipe from here. But like always, there are a few tweaks!

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 3 shallots, diced
  • 1 bell peppers, diced
  • 3 small sweet potatoes, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 cups vegetable broth
  • 1 (15-ounce) can diced tomatoes
  • 2 cups canned lentils
  • ½ teaspoon caraway seeds
  • 1 tablespoon paprika
  • 1 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste

Instructions:

  • Heat olive oil in a large pot over medium high heat. Add onion and bell peppers, and cook, stirring occasionally, until tender, about 3-5 minutes. Add sweet potatoes and garlic and cook, stirring occasionally, until potatoes begin to soften, about 5-7 minutes. Stir in vegetable broth, diced tomatoes, lentils, and spices and salt and pepper.

  • Bring to a boil; reduce heat and simmer until thickened, about 30 minutes.

  • Serve immediately.

UPDATE: Complete photo of Chili with Parmesan on top
UPDATE: Complete photo of Chili with Parmesan on top

Really straight forward, eh?

Now, can someone tell me what caraway seeds are usually used for? I went to the grocery store looking for cumin but couldn’t find it! Weird right? In Dutch cumin is komijn which is easy, but my grocery store does NOT have it. I’ve looked at this store a few times even and every time I can’t find cumin. What is wrong with you Albert Heijn!

Anyway I’ve tasted this as I have cooked it and it tastes great, even with this said ingredient called caraway. Hopefully my friend also likes it! If not… there’s always take out!

Thanks for reading and I hope you have a wonderful evening!

P.S. here is a picture of the heavy looking sky as the day ends.

Smoggy Den Haag

It looks lighter now, but during the actual day when the sun is high above the city, the sky looks so heavy! Like smog, except we don’t have a lot of pollution here. This heaviness is definitely why it is so hot though!

Hope you aren’t feeling that heavy!

L

Leave a comment