Chocolate Zucchini Bundt Cake

I feel like I haven’t baked in a very long time. And it is probably because I haven’t! But I always keep a box of cocoa powder in my cupboard that I thought needed to be utilized this week, which is exactly what I went about doing! I was thinking of making this last weekend for a friend, but some events caused our meet-up not to occur. Good thing though, because she told me only to bring a single slice. If she tasted this masterpiece I think she would have told me to bring more!

IMG_3723

This is a spectacularly moist and delicious cake. I am pretty sure I outdid myself. I was going to share with my sister if she ever came over, but by the looks of the mini plate I placed the Bundt cake on, it’ll be gone before the night is over. Thanks mom, you’ve given me your freshly baked goods-loving genes!

I got the recipe from here, but I have tweaked it some.

Ingredients:

  • 1 ¼ cups (250g) light brown sugar
  • 1 ¾ cups (218g) self-rising flour
  • ¼ cup (4 Tablespoons) cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 Tablespoon cinnamon
  • 1 cup (244g) applesauce
  • 2 chia seed “eggs”
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 cups (350g) grated zucchini
  • 1 cup (175g) semisweet chocolate chips

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 175ᵒC (350ᵒF) and in a large bowl begin to mix dry ingredients together. That includes sugar, flour, cocoa powder, salt and cinnamon.

  2. In a little bowl mix chia seed “eggs” together – let stand. Add applesauce, vanilla extract, and zucchini to dry ingredients. Then add chia seed mixture and mix until smooth.

  3. Add chocolate chips to mixture and mix well.

  4. Pour batter into a greased Bundt cake mold or a bread loaf tin (as originally requested) and bake for 35-40 minutes.

  5. Once ready, poke a toothpick in to check if cake is cooked thoroughly. Once ready remove and allow to cool.

  6. Then enjoy!

Making of CakeWhile I was pouring my cake into the Bundt tin I became distracted by something thus making it a very messy tin. But I cleaned it up and popped it straight into the microwave oven.

Finished Product

I baked my cake for 35 minutes originally, but had to place it back in for about 25 minutes in total before my toothpick finally came out bare. That means this little cake baked for 60 minutes in total, geez!

Chocolate Zucchini Cake

As you can see here, my cake looks VERY moist. But again, also VERY delicious.

I will definitely have to make this again once I move. Don’t you think mom? The perks about my moving is that I can finally bake a lot of gems in the kitchen and I won’t be the only one eating them! Mom and all her new friends can enjoy my baked goods again!

Anyway, that was my Saturday! Hope you all enjoy this recipe!

Eet smakelijk!

Leave a comment